444. Self-Corruption: Jesus Calls!

Some months ago I had a dream where from afar I would see the book by Thomas Piketty ‘The Economics of Inequality’ on a table, and when getting closer to it, it sort of morphed into or became a book with quotes and principles said or provided by Jesus. This was somehow indicated as my ‘new project’ or point of focus. My reaction was that of ‘what? Jesus? Is it about Religion? No way!’ and woke up considering ‘the meaning’ of this dream without seeing much around it. Later on with a clearer mind I considered that maybe I should in fact get more back into the basic living principles that are the ‘building blocks’ of a new human kind-ness, instead of getting a bit too much into theories and knowledge of all the reasons why for example, our economy is not working and inequality is so prevalent… to name but one aspect of our reality that is spiraling into decay. At the time I didn’t give any further thought to it other than mentioning it to some of my friends/colleagues before we had a live hangout, and I let it pass.

But this same point came up today as I have been writing lately about this ‘greater picture’ approach and now it makes more sense to me. After the process I have described in the recent posts when it comes to diving into certain information about the world system and understanding the main patterns of the problems – often getting a bit stuck on the point of how ‘to make it work, it is the human being that has to change’ – I’ve come to realize the importance to focus more or emphasize revising and so making of the living principles or ‘golden rules’ – as they are usually called – more of a practical living ‘philosophy’ for a lack of a better word,  and see how through applying those principles/words in my own life and sharing that process can encourage others to consider these same principles as the ways, methods and solutions to sort out/correct or align the consequential outflows or problems in our reality.

This comes through following the patterns and the ‘human imprint’ in all of the problems existent ‘out there in the world system’ which are very much created and perpetuated by our daily actions – or inactions – individually and so collectively, considering that each one of us one thread in the entire fabric of this reality. This implies acknowledging and recognizing the need for each one of us to focus on our self-change through living these principles of doing to others as we’d like to be done onto, learn to love ourselves and so love/care for others as an extension of ourselves, give to others as we’d like to receive as well, seeing this interdependence that exists between one another where each one of us holds that potential to be a ‘life changer’ and essentially that ‘change’ we have been waiting for as a form of miracle: it won’t ever come if we don’t actively work on it.

So instead of creating a specialization or emphasizing just ‘one aspect’ of our reality, like for example money and economics and all its theory, problems and seemingly ‘unfixable’ current state of affairs –  which is a consequential outflow from the principles we haven’t yet lived within our lives and toward one another – we can start practicing tracing money/economics/politics back to self, which means to follow the creational lines of a particular system, structure, mechanism that ‘rules our lives’ as ‘the system’ back to the very human thinking process and behavior that led to its creation and laws.

An example is how the current theory known as ‘economics’ and its flawed existence that has proven to not be of any real service to the benefit of life, is in fact a mirror of everything that we have all neglected in our very own minds, bodies, lives, relationships between one another and toward the environment and precisely depicts the ‘nature’ that we’ve all mostly become: self interested, greedy, looking for the least effort and maximum profits, competing to ‘be at the highest level’ at the expense of others… and the list goes on. Economics currently exist as the reflection of everything that we have not changed or decided to live up to in order to coexist in harmony, in real recognition of our equality as life – instead each one of us when living in such self-interest and survival mode have co-created our current economic systems that are not meant to fulfill everyone’s necessities and capabilities, but maintaining some above others = which is precisely reflecting how we think, act, behave and decide to do in our lives, always looking for a personal benefit, something to take advantage of, something to control, which are traits we all have within our minds.

In approaching our reality within this ‘greater picture’ perspective, we no longer diminish ourselves into this tunnel vision fixated on ‘everything that is wrong with politics or economics or wall street’ but start broadening the spectrum to see that those very same ‘qualities’ that those systems represent and have become, are existent in all of us in varying degrees, which makes us all invariably the source and origin of the problems in the world. Now this is not actually something to get really sad or depressed about either, lol, but it is in fact great news and I’ll continue to explain why with an example.

One of the most common words or problems we single out as the reason why ‘politics’ or ‘economics’ or just ‘anything in the world’ don’t work as it could or should is Corruption, which curiously enough was pronounced by the pope today as  ‘more addictive than drugs’ and so one of the ‘greatest crimes’ as well… but, do we usually question ourselves how corruption exists within us?

The other day I placed this idea to one of my family members, about  how we tend to focus so much on ‘corruption’ out there embedded ‘by default’ in the name of our president, or the bankers, or the corporate executives … really, making of ‘them’ the ‘human piñatas’ to kick and blame for everything that we haven’t dare to take responsibility for and in doing so, we get away with murder by avoid seeing how corruption Does exist within each one of us, regardless of being or not being part of such ‘elites’.

So when I mentioned to this person how corruption has its origin within ourselves, he simply placed a serious face as if I was in fact making a bit of an insult to him, because this person may perceive himself to be a regular honest and hard working person. I noticed that sharing these ideas to try and all of a sudden open up deeper layers of understanding of how ‘what exists within ourselves creates our without,’ is not such an effective process in ‘making others see what this practically means.’ And as I continued the conversation I mentioned how we all have our false-self-consciousness where we like to regard ourselves in this ‘goody-two-shoes’ light where: we do nothing wrong, we are exemplar individuals or at least we like to believe ‘we do not harm others’ and ‘we work hard and honestly for what we have’ which one would then accordingly conceive as yes, an integral person that has no participation in corruption. But! This is also still a limited understanding of what corruption in fact means as a trait that we’ve all applied and lived in our lives.

corrupt

n   adjective

1   willing to act dishonestly in return for money or personal gain. Øevil or morally depraved.

2   (of a text or a computer database or program) made unreliable by errors or alterations.

3    rotten or putrid.

 

Now that we are aware of this meaning, I’d like to ask if we willingly and voluntarily ever dare to and direct ourselves to dig into those ‘dark corridors’ within ourselves where we in fact keep a hold of certain desires, fantasies, ideas of what is good for ourselves only – and here I can expand it to not only focus on this  personal gain as a monetary or experiential ‘good stuff’ – but I bet that we all can relate to also keeping ourselves trapped in cycles of self-deception, like maintaining a particular experience of disempowerment, depression, sadness or anger which is also a form of self-dishonesty where we limit ourselves and our potential as well, because we are corrupting our individual and so collective potential by holding on to a particular experience of disempowerment, of blame, of anger, of making others the ‘bad guys’, instead of focusing on what we can do and become to benefit ourselves and so others around us too.

Here doesn’t matter if we hold on to a positive or negative experience or idea of ourselves, the point to understand here is that we have all corrupted ourselves in the name of some personal gain or interest, no matter how ‘big’ or how many ‘millions’ or no millions are involved in it, because we tend to only associate the word ‘corruption’ with politicians, bankers, corporate people, leaders of any sort which usually leads to ‘blaming others’ and that story is a bit of a broken record for us all by now, really.

Here I’d like to entirely focus on the corruption of self, or ‘self-corruption’ that is essentially any form of acts, words, deeds in self-dishonesty, meaning where we are willing to compromise ourselves and others in the name of some form of personal gain or self-interest, even if those thoughts/words and deeds are detrimental to our lives. Let’s not forget that the word ‘evil’ is the reverse of ‘live.’

 

Here I’ll place an example I can share which relates to not taking the point ‘back to myself’ when it comes to precisely standing in my ‘goody two shoes’ stance of ‘seeing the corruption only outside of myself’ in the form of ‘the corrupt politicians,’ the ‘corrupt elites,’ the ‘corrupt CEO’s’ and the rest of it, with which I would in fact stand in this apparent ‘purity’ of sorts believing myself to ‘not be like them at all!’ and even having the guts to insult some of them, just because I felt that I could due to ‘what they were doing onto us!’  (blame character) while perceiving that I was in fact the most honest and transparent person I could ever know.

Well, this is that kind of ‘false-self-consciousness’ where we love to veil the truth of ourselves in order to keep kicking the same ‘human piñatas’ we’ve made to blame for all things going wrong or not working out. Little did I dare at that time to ever take the finger back to myself and see how by becoming angry, by calling names, by believing that I had to be the one ‘pointing their problems out’ through becoming a sort of ‘intellectual’ around certain topics to ‘expose’ ‘all the flaws’ I was not in fact creating any form of solutions at all, I in fact was doing it in this self-interest which is the mechanism of ‘trumping others’, of seeing myself ‘knowledgeable’ enough to ‘have a say’ on everything that is ‘wrong’, and so using this knowledge or awareness of things as a way to place myself on my own ‘purity’ and ‘clarity’ self-built pedestal where I comfortably blinded myself from recognizing that I, in fact, was as much of a participant in all those things I have criticized in ‘those’ that I have pointed fingers at as ‘the problem.’

 

In other words, I didn’t acknowledge that I was by default and almost by ‘virtue’ of having a human mind already self-dishonest. And that I continued to corrupt myself, my potential when standing in that ‘self-created pedestal’ of apparent honesty and purity or ‘positive light’ as in ‘not being part of the problem’ or even perceiving myself as ‘being part of the solution’ for being aware of the problems in the world, yet never, ever willing to take it one step further and recognize how it was in fact myself in how I ‘operate’ in my own mind that I had lived in a corrupt manner all my life, always – if not openly, secretly or in a veiled form, seeking to blame and point the finger ‘outside’ of myself, never daring to question my own fears, my own desires, my own ‘traits’ and ways of manipulating others, controlling, seeking my personal benefit, cheating, seeking recognition or importance or ‘just getting angry’ about things as a form of righteousness and so, a form of self-corruption, because! When one has this false-consciousness of ‘others are all wrong and I am right’ one in fact becomes a righteous person that is really difficult to get out of the ‘vicious cycle’ from, because one can justify being right all the time with really good structures of words and ideas and knowledge here and there to keep this ‘idea of self’ in an ‘uncorrupted manner’ or ‘in a good intentions light’ – but, I must say that this leads nowhere but to inflate an ego that is hard to pop and would most likely lead to a very rough landing, yet a very necessary one if we are to recognize what it means that ‘them’ are ‘us’ to and that the ‘mess’ of the world is our very own mirror = my-error too.

I’ve described myself having this ‘haughty position’ which is the same as being righteous, inflexible, intolerant, very critical and judgmental specially towards what is commonly named as ‘the system,’ I almost would rejoice myself in being able to – excuse me but it is so – talk shit about others as politicians or world leaders or religious leaders and ‘their ways’ in which one creates this superiority construct that emerges from in fact having felt disempowered toward ‘them’ too, but that’s another story and layer of personality where we place ourselves ‘above’ others through insulting/taking revenge and the rest of forms of violence for a particular pseudo-empowerment.

Here in this example, my self-corruption can be described as this personal veil of ‘goodness’ in the guise of being apparently ‘knowledgeable’ enough to see the problems and how they were caused by x, y and z but! Never by myself, ever… well here I was in fact perpetuating the corruption in the world where one is not willing to recognize one’s own personal desires for certain ‘gain’ – material or not –  for a personal interest in the form of an experience, a fantasy, a dream of grandeur which can even be disguised in certain seemingly ‘good ways,’ like wanting to do ‘good to the world’ while secretly wishing to also sink the ones I had defined as ‘the bad guys’ in the worst of prisons or ‘hells on Earth’ possible as a way to ‘trump’ them so to speak, and rejoice in the thought of that. Yikes! Isn’t that actually quite the ‘evil’ in me that I was really blind to see and acknowledge because I was holding on to this ‘goody two shoes’ person that ‘wants to fight for justice and equality’? Yes, it is, it’s the ‘evil’ that we rarely – if at all – dare to see within ourselves, and this is precisely the kind of corruption I am here to open up and also dare each one of you reading this to also start doing for yourself.

It was only when I dared to open up this ‘secret mind’ of mine where I held all of these laudable self-indulgences as ‘dreams’ for myself, disguised as ‘good causes’ where yes, I did may have wanted to ‘do good’ and even portray myself as some kind of ‘liberator for the people’ lol! But, at the same time, hide the fact that I would mostly rejoice at ‘trumping’ or ‘vexing’ and ‘ripping apart’ the plans of those that I was blaming for ‘all the bad in the world’ and so, seeing them suffer which equals taking revenge.

But! If someone would have asked me: hey are you full of hate and desire for revenge to those that you see as the problem in the world? I would have most likely said “Noooo, I just want to focus on doing good stuff!” And here! Ladies and gentleman is where the self-corruption begins, where we are not really daring to see the truth of ourselves.  See how this all was very nicely packaged, I’ll use Sunette’s recently used words: ‘like swords disguised as flowers’ where I veiled off my own ‘evil’ with seemingly ‘good intentions.’ I guess this is partly why it is said that ‘the road to hell is paved with good intentions’ for one of these reasons where if one is not entirely clear, stable, without a single judgment or desire or fantasy achievement ‘for oneself’ as one’s ego, we are prone to simply recreate or become/take the place of those that we have criticized or have wanted to debunk the most.

I’m glad I have been able to see this with such clarity now because I was on my way to becoming that kind of person that would stand in continuous ‘defiance’ toward the system, in an angry manner yet possibly feeling very disempowered and most probable very lost in my own personal life. In this, I’ve also found how we tend to create a false-sense of ‘empowerment’ with knowledge, information, anger toward ‘those that we point the fingers at to blame for everything that is wrong’- according to us – and perceive that we are ‘above’ them in our minds by doing so… inflating the knowledgeable ego and in fact not realizing that this is the perfect recipe to keep ourselves all divided and conquered, because we recreate the same division where we don’t think of all of humanity as oneself, as Self, as equals in fact in living substance, but we like to keep fighting against oneself disguised as ‘others’ and this way, we won’t ever, ever get anywhere.

What did it take to unveil the ‘self-corruption’? Courage, it takes courage to be self-honest, and realizing that what I was holding on to was my own ego, delusions of power, delusions of superiority that kept me also quite fearful, sad and depressed at the same time, always thinking in those ‘greater realms’ of reality and not really focusing on the living-breathing-me that is here: my life, my mind, my body, my day to day activities, my relationships, my living purpose.

I’d say this is one of the layers of self-corruption where we neglect so much of ourselves when focusing more on the outside as a form of distraction to not ‘focus on self’ first of all, and that is self-corruption as well, neglecting our own self-responsibility to our own minds and life trying to ‘fix it all’ out there and not daring to have a good honest look at our lives, the ways we live, the kind of relationships we have, what we decide to buy/eat, how we relate to others, how we do our jobs, what motivates us every day to wake up… The same goes if one focuses too much on one’s ‘internal’ dreams and desires and neglects the outside, same story, it’s self-corruption because we go pursuing everything that we have believed will ‘fulfill our lives,’ not realizing that we won’t ever genuinely ‘be happy’ in this world as long as there are other beings having the worst ‘living’ experiences and having no support at all to overcome their position, because! We haven’t regarded them as our equals and given them what we want for ourselves too. See again how the ‘problems’ reflect back our very own ways of thinking and currently interacting in our reality?

I understand that this might be a seemingly disempowering point, where we can get to see the core and origin of all the problems ‘out there’ existing within ourselves, as ourselves, but it is in fact not at all so. If anything now we know it is us that have to develop such self transparency, self integrity, self honesty, self investigation, diligence, dedication to change at an individual level to live and recognize this potential and ‘power’ as a capacity and ability that we all have in our lives if we dare to truly work on our inherent self-corruption and align ourselves to live by principles to in essence, consider what is best for our lives and that of others, how we can become the example of everything that we preach and say ‘should be the new nature of the world’ out there. This takes time, takes effort, takes walking through our minds and all its challenges which I must be honest here: won’t be easy, but it has to be done if we are genuinely wanting to change this ‘corrupted’ world starting with ourselves.

My last suggestion is thus to start with investigating where corruption exists within you/self, instead of perceiving that corruption only exists ‘out there’ or in the form of some ‘manipulative and controlling evil people’ and in doing so, challenging this tendency we all have of keeping seeing ourselves under this ‘good light’ all the time, which if one actually dares to see, whenever we want to focus on the good only and not dare to or want to see the actual ‘dishonesty’, the actual ‘dirt’ that exists within us so to speak = indicates we are mostly existing in fear, which is probably also what leads to corruption in the first place, existing in fear of others, in fear of ‘not getting any’, fearing lack, fearing betrayal and so not trusting ourselves or others.

We recreate the same corruption over and over again by fearing seeing the truth of ourselves, that’s the first layer of self-corruption that is necessary to look at, where we deny or neglect seeing ‘the unpleasant’ stuff, the ‘dirty laundry’ that sometimes we even don’t dare to open up for ourselves. And let me tell you that it is actually really liberating and self-empowering to start opening up these ‘dark corridors’ and ‘hidden spots’ in our minds to first take all of those judgments we’ve spitted out toward others back to ourselves, asking oneself: where have I sought my own personal interest? Where and how have I lied to remain in a particular seemingly ‘comfortable position’ to not change myself? Where have I pretended to care about something and not really ‘caring’ but wanting to see myself in a ‘good light’ all the time? Where do I perceive that I am the only one that is ‘right’ about things? Where do I want to do good and at the same time ‘punish’ others for the ‘bad things’ they have done? Where do I want to ‘gain the most’ with the ‘least effort’? And the list goes on.

It is certain that one can only get to see this ‘clarity’ of ourselves by walking our minds and that means learning to see ourselves, to learn how to function without being controlled by our seemingly ‘uncontrollable emotions and feelings’ and dare to face and change the really self-corrupted ways that we have veiled off as ‘normal’ or ‘good parts’ within ourselves. We All have to do this if we want to truly stop the current usual ways of pretending change comes from this or that thing/person ‘out there’ only, it is about ourselves, one by one, so let’s get to wash some dirty laundry at home first.

This then goes back to how focusing on living principles, the golden rules, basic principles of self-honesty and – very important – self forgiveness is the way to fix ‘the greatest problems in the world’ such as corruption in our ‘economy’ or ‘inequality’ and so forth… now I consider that maybe that dream did have a point after all, where it is in fact so that we have to stop the delusional ‘cartoon’ image of Jesus and all the rest of nice stories and focus on the living principles, what they imply, how to live them.

Thanks for reading

 

Economics of Inequality - Living Principles

 

Learn more about Jesus and the living process of living principles:

 – The Crucifixion of Jesus

 

Suggested interviews:

 

Learn HOW to start doing this yourself :

About Marlen

I share my realizations and perspectives within learning how to live life in self-honesty in the Desteni Process to expand and grow as a person in this world. #IMatter View all posts by Marlen

4 responses to “444. Self-Corruption: Jesus Calls!

Share your Realizations

